Getting Inspired | Home on the Coast

So last week I posted the mood board I created for the living room. It’s still a work in progress and I’m sure elements of it will change between now and when we finally get round to starting it, but any time I see a mood board I want to know what inspired it, so in this week’s post I’m going to break down the elements on my mood board and hopefully some of my inspiration will also inspire you and help you to create your own makeover mood boards.

The overall look I’m going for throughout the entire house is Parisian Apartment meets Coastal Cottage… they are my favourite styles and I’m determined to merge them! I don’t think you should be afraid to pick elements from styles that you like even if they wouldn’t normally be put together. Everyone likes different things, this is what makes us unique and I believe in embracing your own personal style – don’t follow the magazines, the TV shows or the popular designers style – create your own! It really bugs me when TV designers turn their nose up at patterned carpets and 1970’s fireplaces – there is no right or wrong way to decorate your home – if you like it, then that’s all that matters.

From all my Pinterest stalking it seems that most Parisian interiors have kept all their original period features, embracing them and painting them white, creating a blank canvas to work from. Walls, wood work, coving, ceiling roses… all white. Parisian design tends to keep the canvas blank and use the furnishings to add colour and texture which means that you can change the feel of a room with no more than a few new cushions and throws.

The kind of coastal cottages I like are the ones with bare wood floors, pattered or natural fibre rugs, floral curtains, tartan footstools and a roaring fire – warm and cosy.

Thankfully we have a lot of original period features in the living room and we were able to save the majority of them. The room will need a new ceiling rose and unfortunately the sash windows have had to go. The new windows are being fitted on Tuesday and they are uPVC tilt and turn, however we are keeping all the original wood trim and panelling in the bay.

There was a lot of heartbreak over the sash windows. We wanted to keep them, but budget and practicality got in the way… ah such is life!

We are repainting the living room white a la Paris, while the floorboards will be painted dark grey and the door will be dipped and stripped back to bare wood to add a little bit of cottage warmth. I’m still undecided about the fireplace. I retiled the hearth with a beige diamond patterned tile and we got a bargain little custard cream coloured stove which is yet to be installed, but as for a surround and mantle we both want different things. I think a wood surround with a cast iron tiled insert would look best, however Alan is in favour of an oak beam. I think a beam is a little too rustic and cottagey for the room though.

We are keeping our original sofa suite which is about 6 years old. It will be getting a wee dry clean to freshen it up, but it’s a good looking sofa and fits in well with our personal style. I want to add a load of cushions to the sofas – I’m firmly of the opinion that the more cushions the better. I want them in different shades of pale blue, mustard and navy and contrasting patterns and textures. Give me some faux fur and I’m a happy girl.

Anyway, I feel like I’m rambling on trying to explain when really it’s probably better if I show you. I am a bonafide Pinterest stalker. I take most of my inspiration from Pinterest so here are some of my favourite pins which are the inspiration for our living room mood board – hopefully it will help you if you are feeling a little stuck. I picked my favourite elements out of each of these.

Leave a comment